dhrmlogotrans    Department of Human Resource Management

Governor's Honor Awards

Governor's Honor Awards Logo

Frequently Asked Questions for Employees

Who is eligible for consideration?
All classified full-time, part-time and wage employees may be nominated for the awards. Individuals or group leaders may request that their direct supervisor review their accomplishments to determine if they meet award criteria.

Can anyone submit a nomination for a Governor’s Award?
State agencies nominate employees for the Governor’s Awards. Nomination forms and instructions are sent to all agency heads and HR Directors with criteria and the submission process.  Each agency’s process for determining nominees may be different, however supervisors are encouraged to discuss nominations with their Human Resources Director. Many agencies allow employees to nominate their colleagues for agency awards that may be eligible for consideration as a Governor’s Honor Award nominee.

What are the categories?
The categories for the Governor’s Awards are:

  • Champion of Change
  • Courageous Leader
  • Innovative Spirit
  • Administration Excellence
  • Personal and Professional Excellence
  • Support Service
  • Diversity, Inclusion and Outreach
  • Creative Customer Service
  • Heroism
  • Public Service
  • Pandemic Response

Who selects the Governor’s Award recipients?
Recipients are selected as the result of a two-tiered judging process by the Governor’s Awards Committee, which consists of the Governor’s Cabinet, Cabinet deputies and agency heads.

Will there be a special ceremony to honor award recipients?
The Governor’s Awards ceremony will be held on September 15, 2021. Award recipients will receive a certificate signed by the Governor, a medal commemorating their achievement, and a $500 prize sponsored by the Virginia Credit Union. Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic the date of the award presentation is tentative.

Have more questions? Send an email to DHRMHonorAwards@dhrm.virginia.gov

Go Back to Top of Page