

Virginia Hourly Minimum Wage Increased Effective January 1

The Virginia minimum wage was increased to \$12.00 effective January 1, 2023 as mandated in the <u>Virginia Minimum Wage Act</u>. The <u>classified compensation salary structure</u> has been adjusted to the minimum wage increase in pay band one and by the representative percentage to maintain the structure ratio in pay band two. No adjustments were made to pay bands 3 through 9.

Agencies will need to process an adjustment for impacted individuals with current hourly rates below \$12.00 per hour to the new threshold. Please keep the new minimum in mind when hiring. Agencies are encouraged to review recent offers for new employees and make adjustments as necessary.