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Wage 3 Requirement

Virginia Department of The Wage 3 sub-system of PMIS is required for agencies subject to the
HUMAN RESOURCE Governor’s Hiring Approval Process. Please review the instructions
MANAGEMENT distributed on 3/31/14 and 4/14/14 noting which wage positions are

subject to the hiring approval process and which ones are decentralized on
a one-time basis. The Position Category Field will be used to distinguish
these wage positions in Wage 3. Beginning 4/15/14, agencies must enter

RIS |ssue: one of the following codes in this field when creating a Wage 3 record:

Wage 3 Requirement ! .

L = Up to 180 consecutive days
ECigareties 5 G = More than 180 consecutive days

S = Seasonal
g’:"@’;i‘gfg‘(‘zmmg e The 180-day count will commence on the wage employee’s current position
Hours of Service begin date. On 4/15/14, DHRM entered “G” as the default value for all
Statewide Pay Action 3 wage records that currently exist in Wage 3. Agencies will need to correct
Summary Report individual records as necessary. DHRM will assist agencies with batch
B R Epcricnce and 4 uploads of new wage records into Wage 3. Please contact
Educational ihelp@dhrm.virginia.gov for assistance and instructions.

Requirements in Job
Announcements
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E-Cigarettes

Several agencies have asked whether smoking ban in effect for state workplaces and
vehicles also applies to the use of electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes).

e There is no DHRM policy related to cigarette smoking but the Employee Handbook
notes the cigarette smoking prohibition first announced in former Governor Kaine’s
Executive Order #41.

o The Attorney General’s Office has advised that the use of electronic cigarettes (e-
cigarettes) does not meet the definition of “smoke” or “smoking” noted in the
Virginia Indoor Clean Air Act §15.2-2820 and that we should not interpret that the
ban on cigarette smoking applies to the use of e-cigarettes.

e Research to date has neither consistently confirmed nor repudiated that inhalation
of the vapor produced by e-cigarettes is harmful to the user or may impact non-
users in close proximity to those inhaling the vapor. Consequently, no ban on the
use of e-cigarettes has been codified or addressed in an Executive Order.

DHRM'’s advice (with the endorsement of the Attorney General’s Office) to agencies has
been consistent regarding this topic:

Agencies may develop internal policies to address the use of e-cigarettes just as
they may address employee dress codes, the use of strongly-scented products,
visible body art/piercing, or any of a variety of other behaviors or workplace
expectations.

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Eligibility Guidance -
Counting Hours of Service

When determining eligibility for FMLA, the 1,250 hours of service required must be actual hours worked. Paid and
unpaid leave time are not included in the count.

The actual number of hours worked is counted for Q status employees, part-time classified employees, and hourly
employees, also. The eligibility threshold is not pro-rated based on the employee’s status. So, for example, a Q status
employee working 32 hour per week (80% of full-time status) must still meet the 1,250 hour threshold rather than 80% of
that threshold (1,000 hours).

The employee must have worked for the employer* for 12 months. The 12 months of employment are not required to
be consecutive in order for the employee to qualify for FMLA leave. In general, only employment within seven years is
counted unless the break in service is (1) due to an employee’s fulfillment of military obligations, or (2) governed by a
collective bargaining agreement or other written agreement.

*For the purpose of determining eligibility for FMLA, all state agencies are considered to be one employer.

Please see information on the Department of Labor’'s website at http://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/fmla-fags.htm#3.
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Statewide Pay Action Summary Report for
January — March 2014

Reason All Actions|Salary Changes |[Average % Change |

Agency Special Rate 150 150 1.78

Change of Duties Salary 311 311 7.64

Competitive Salary Offer 38 38 12.40

Competitive Voluntary Transfer 516 386 9.04

Disciplinary Demotion 1 1 -10.00

Disciplinary Pay Action 1 1 -5.00

Downward Role Change 25 3 -3.01

End Temp Pay: Acting Status 73 73 -9.21 For the first quarter,
End Temp Pay: Addtional Duties 52 52 -8.21 there were: 2,523 base
Epd Temp Pay: Special Assgnmnt 7 7 -9.59 aves'rzgzygg?gﬁ/ifzm
Field Change 55 55 14.54 base salary decreases
Internal Alignment Salary 416 414 6.20 averaging -7.96%; and
Lateral Role Change 56 22 8.70 1,370 bonus actions,
Lateral Transfer 5 4 19.63 ~ averaging 1.24%.
New Knowledge/Skills/Abilities 297 295 6.75

Non-Competitive Voluntry Trans 231 44 1.62 Workforce Planning and
Non-Routine 87 87 7.04 the Periodical's Pay
Performance Demotion 3 3 -7.47 Action Summary data
Promotion 365 362 14.28 may vary within the
Reassignment 50 1 15.00 Zzggrgﬁ ?;Znﬁ rr?:igooc:‘
Retention Salary Increase 113 113 6.70 data runs, agency
Temp Pay: Additional Duties 84 84 8.07 retraction requests, and
Temp Pay: Special Assignment 15 15 11.70 the manual review and
Temporary Pay: Acting Status 102 102 9.45 extraction of erroneous
Transfer In Lieu of Layoff 1 1 3.26 PMIS entries.
Upward Role Change 184 141 9.92

\oluntary Demotion 41 26 -11.22

Change of Duties Bonus 34 34 3.96

Internal Alignment Bonus 24 24 2.48

New Knowledge/Skills/Abilities 32 32 3.34

Recognition Award Leave Hours 1209|. .

Recognition Award Monetary 731 731 0.75

Recognition Award Non-Monetary 39 39 0.14

Referral Bonus Pay Out 40 40 0.72

Retention Additional Leave 2|. .

Retention Bonus 69 69 2.82

Retention Bonus Pay Out 384 384 1.51

Sign-On Additional Leave 10[.

Sign-On Advanced Leave 1. .

Sign-On Bonus Pay-Out 17 17 2.36

Total Actions 5871 4161 5.35
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Specifying Experience and Educational Requirements in
Job Anhouncements

Did you know that state policy prohibits specifying a precise number of years of experience and requiring
educational levels not mandated by law in job announcements?

Policy 2.10, Hiring, specifically prohibits noting a certain number of years of experience or specific
educational requirements unless these experience or education requirements are sanctioned by

law. State policy allows the use of descriptive words that indicate the level of experience required. For
example, the words “some,” “considerable,” “extensive,” and “progressively responsible” can effectively
communicate the extent of experiential requirements. Educational requirements that are not mandated
by law must be listed in the job announcement as preferred qualifications, and the announcement must
include a provision for substitution of equivalent applicable experience or training. When indicating a
preference for a college degree, the announcement should also include the specific types of related
degrees or coursework that are applicable to the position’s core duties.

” ow“

Please review this information with your agency hiring managers. Agency human resource personnel
responsible for recruitment should review all job announcements prior to posting to ensure compliance
with policy and the law. If you have questions, please contact Pat Waller, Employment & Shared Services
Manager, or your assigned AHRS Consultant.

Note: From time to time, we repeat earlier-published guidance as we deem necessary. This guidance was originally published
in April 2009.

Virginiajobs

" - arangen) opportimcs in stategoyernment:

Page 4


http://www.dhrm.virginia.gov/hrpolicy/policy/policy/pol2_10Hiring.pdf
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Our goal is to provide practical information that supports human
Pepartment of Human Resource Management resource objectives across the Commonwealth and to encourage
Office of Agency Human Resource Services . . R . X
101 N 14th Street innovative strategies in the management and delivery of agency
Richmond, VA 23219 services.

To tell us what you would like to see featured in upcoming issues,

Phone: 804-225-2131 contact us using the information on the left-hand side of this page.

Fax: 804-371-7401
E-mail: compensation@dhrm.virginia.gov or

policy@dhrm.virginia.gov

dhrm
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